Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: What is your love language?

What is your love language?

What is your love language?

Love is wonderfully captivating; it's where we find so much satisfaction and joy. It sweeps us off our feet, releases the butterflies that relentlessly flutter deep within. Love is an enduring embodiment of commitment displaying much solidarity by our love ones in tough times. 

As wondrous as it may be, love often seems like a double-edged sword; tricky and volatile, easily swayed at times. Sometimes it makes you feel like you're on cloud nine and other times, it is disheartening when things don't work out. 

Have you ever been there? When you give your best, but it still seems like you're not putting enough effort into the relationship? Ever wondered about how to get our love ones to understand our love for them?

The good news is that you're not alone! Love has kept humanity on its toes; it remains a hot topic in this age of modern society.

Have you ever heard of "The 5 Love Languages" by Dr. Gary Chapman? An international best-seller that sold over 12 million copies internationally. Dr. Chapman presents its readers with an interesting theory on the premise that how we express and feel love varies from one individual to another and the best way is to communicate love through their preferred love language.

Fret not if you're worried about a long read, we've got your back! Here are the five languages, along with simple examples just for you!

  1. Words of Affirmation 

To those who identify with this, it is about how encouragement and affirmation through verbal communication with simple words can work wonders. It's all about using words to build up the other person. Even if it's something simple like "Thank you for always doing ________ for me, despite being busy.", can make your partner feel a little bit more special. 

  1. Gift Giving

This works both ways, either your love language is to give gifts, or your partner loves receiving gifts. A gift says, "He was thinking about me. Look what he got for me." Which is always lovely. 

  1. Acts of Service

For acts of service, it is about the act of serving someone, from the simple things to more. Doing something for your love ones that you know they would like and appreciate. Those using this language of love, find joy and happiness when they're able to do things for their partner.

  1. Quality Time

Giving your love ones the entirety of yourself with undivided attention. Emphasizing quality over quantity. Whether it's going for a walk, reading at a cafe, being together and talk. For those who feel loved by this, show your love by setting time aside to spend it together. 

  1. Physical Touch

Having your love one by your side, being able to feel their warmth is a love language that most longed for. The feeling of holding their partner's hand, a kiss, a hug, they're all expressions of love that cannot be replaced.

The point is not about "giving your best" to love others by how we think, but rather it is to love our love ones in the ways they would feel love

Out of these five, each of you has a primary love language that speaks more deeply to you than all the others, and which do you think your partner will respond to? Discovering each others’ language and speaking it regularly is the best way to keep love alive in a relationship.

"It is good to love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is well done." ― Vincent Van Gogh


Read more

Five Podcasts That Help You Reflect

Five Podcasts That Help You Reflect

Whether it be in your daily commutes, mealtimes or winding down before sleep, tuning in to these podcasts can help us reflect daily.

Read more
Losing sleep? Your phone could be the culprit.

Losing sleep? Your phone could be the culprit.

Say hello to a good nights rest.

Read more


Designed in exclusive collaboration with the iconic British heritage brand - Morris & Co.. The chemistry between Minimalism & Maximalism!


Designed by Magnus Joergensen with Minimalism philosophy of both Modern & Vintage, making it last in time.


Equipped with anti-reflective & scratch-resistant glass, made of specialized single-dome sapphire crystals - Serenity collection


Crafted with meticulously chosen Japanese Miyota Quartz movement, ensuring precision & the utmost accuracy in timekeeping.


Can be engraved with your own message, making it a perfect meaningful gift for your loved ones.


With every watch sold, we help gift a child with 6 month of quality education in Asia & Africa. And, with every 20,000 watches sold, we will build a school with Human Practice Foundation. But why education?


Delivered in sustainable & reusable Bamboo Boxes, certified by Forest Stewardship Council®


August Berg supports Carbon Removal for every shipment, ensuring that your delivery is carbon-neutral, and certified by Carbon Direct.